Official name: Slovak Republic
Capital: Bratislava (432,801 inhabitants)
Population: 5.4 million (out of them 51.4 % women)
Currency: euro (since January 1, 2009)
Date of establishment: January 1, 1993 (after separation of the Czech and Slovak Federative Republic)
Political system: parliamentary democracy
Administrative organisation: 8 higher territorial units, 8 regions, 79 districts, 2,933 municipalities out of which are 138 cities and towns. Regional capitals: Bratislava, Trnava, Nitra, Trenčín, Žilina, Banská Bystrica, Prešov, Košice
Official language: Slovak
Neighbouring countries: Czechia, Poland, Ukraine, Hungary, Austria
Area: 49,035 km2
Density of population: 109/km2

Best_Wordpress_Gallery id="7" gal_title="Slovakia"